CHUD.com Community › Forums › CULTURE, HUMOR, & FREE FORM › Misc. Culture › Best Buy Scam email?
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

Best Buy Scam email?

post #1 of 7
Thread Starter 
a friend at my work received the infamous best buy scam email this week saying her account had been accessed and someone spent said $$$ amount.

She was worried. and I told her to check the website or call best buy.

sure enough its a big scam. I went to the site and they posted a big thing on it.

does anyone know what the full email said?
post #2 of 7
Never heard of this one. Does the email ask for your account info in order to correct the problem?

I'd rather have someone's Circuit City info myself.
post #3 of 7
Thread Starter 
this is what the best buy pop up says.

<a href="http://www.bestbuy.com/homePopup.asp" target="_blank">pop up notice</a>
post #4 of 7
There is also an email scam running that Best Buy has sent out a security email about.

Be on the lookout y'all.
post #5 of 7
Yep.
post #6 of 7
And I've received two that look EXACTLY like e-mails from PayPal, asking, for security reasons, that I login to my account from my e-mail, and enter my name, address, PayPal account name, and password. I forwarded this to PP and asked if it was legit, and they never answered me back. So I ignored it. I got exactly the same e-mail again about 1 month later. And I ignored it as well. They were supposedly flushing out "dead" accounts with this e-mail, which made me even more suspicious, considering I had just bought something on eBay using PP about 2 days before I got the e-mail.
post #7 of 7
Wait, that wasn't a legit email?

...

I guess I shouldn't have signed over my soul to Best Buy.

It's not like I haven't given them enough money anyway.
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:
  Return Home
  Back to Forum: Misc. Culture
CHUD.com Community › Forums › CULTURE, HUMOR, & FREE FORM › Misc. Culture › Best Buy Scam email?